Simple World: the southern Queen

The smell of freshly mowed grass runs through me and like a herd of belly hungry cattle, my desires for green grass deepens, forming into my voice which hurriedly writes out
“How I’ve missed you, Southern Queen
Your arms wide and stretched far
across your green lands”

My cold skin from the east coast gradually shedding away as the evening mosquitos of the southern heat suckle away my now fading winter memories.

Southern Queen with your ever welcoming grace: of your dwellers I have no immediate recollection but of your skin I have smelled before. With your pace defined, I remember your open roads.
My ears retuning its canal back to string played guitars and crooning voices telling tales of southern love and bar-fist fights.

Southern Queen, your open arms full of unforcing love; memories of the old days I spent with you comes flooding back.

“Stop right here,” you whisper into my ears.
Lost in the country side, only blue and green I see, of sky and of earth. Distant, across the fields where black cattle graze and brown horses pretend to fly, a small wooden house shaped like a hut made of clay sat amidst dog barks, chicken feather flapping, rattle snakes crackling. All melodies of the beauty within the bosom of your care.

Southern Queen, you know well the difference of highways and red sandy paths. Of tower-like buildings and hills of old tress, the difference you know well. Though of your dwellers intent I fail to remember but of your thickly formed heat, I remember well.

Southern Queen, in the heat amongst the low cut houses, you sing to me: pleading I stay here with you. Here away from the maddening mechanical ways of the east lands. You tell me of a place within your heart; full of water wells and ripened maize.

Give me your labor tears, be you boy, girl, man, woman. Give to me a lake full of your pore-dripping sweat and to you I will reward with land to call home and plants for food. I ask for your sweat, only so I may refill my fountain during the conference of the golden sun and the coarse land.”

Leave a Reply

