Stolen Innocence

Dapple dapple, young moon
Young ones dragged out of sleep
Across the cape, they roam
Dust to skins
Brown Queens painted with heat

Savannah, savannah
Speak, speak
Speak to me
Whisper those secrets
Tell me where my innocence might be
Amongst the killers of nations?
Dividers of unity?
Destroyers of Kings and Queens?

Savannah, oh savannah
If I look across your side
Will my innocence meet eyes?

Whisper, whisper
Whisper these things to me
Old soul holding the hills
Sands carrying mother earth
Grumble out those foot prints
And lead me to the very ends
where my innocence may one day
revisit the cries of a mother

Leave a Reply

